Presidents and civil liberties from Wilson to Obama : a story of poor custodians /

"This book is a history of the civil liberties records of American presidents from Woodrow Wilson to Barack Obama. It examines the full range of civil liberties issues: First Amendment rights of freedom of speech, press and assembly; due process; equal protection, including racial justice, wome...

Full description

Saved in:
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Walker, Samuel, 1942-
Format: Book
Published: Cambridge, [England] ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2012
Tags: Add Tag
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Table of Contents:
  • Machine generated contents note: 1. Introduction: presidents and civil liberties; Part I. The Early Years: 2. Woodrow Wilson and the suppression of civil liberties in World War I; 3. Harding, Coolidge, and Hoover: civil liberties in the wilderness; 4. Franklin D. Roosevelt: the mixed legacy of a strong president; Part II. Civil Liberties in the Cold War and Civil Rights Eras: 5. Harry Truman: courage and contradictions; 6. Dwight D. Eisenhower: a failure of presidential leadership; 7. John F. Kennedy: the failed promise of the new frontier; 8. The glory and the tragedy of Lyndon Johnson; 9. Richard Nixon: a singular abuse of presidential power; Part III. The Post-Watergate Era: 10. Gerald Ford: a minor president in very interesting times; 11. Jimmy Carter: failed president, good civil libertarian; 12. Ronald Reagan and George H. W. Bush: the neo-conservative assault on civil liberties; 13. Bill Clinton: the divided soul of a 'new democrat'; Part IV. Civil Liberties in the Age of Terrorism: 14. George W. Bush: the worst president ever on civil liberties; 15. Reflections on presidents, civil liberties, and democracy with observations on Barack Obama